Stagecraft Entertainment Logo
TOM WAITS:

-> COVER  
-> READING SAMPLE  
-> ORDER  
-> PUBLISHERS' NOTE  
-> PRESS  
-> BOOKSTORES
PROJECTS:

-> THEATRE PRODUcTION  
   - AAAOFZ THING-FISH   
   - COME AS YOU ARE  
   - NOTES FROM UNDERG.  
ABOUT US:

-> BREM / KNAPP / RAHLFS 
-> CONTACT  
-> LINKS  
-> IMPRINT  
-> AUF DEUTSCH  

  In 1994 Kurt Cobain decided to put an end to old famous himself. It was the end of NIRVANA, a band that created a whole new music genre, or at least made it famous. Cobain has always been inspiring for theories. Was he unhappy with being a role model? Has he been murdered? The release of his diaries ten years later shed some more light on Mr. Kurt Cobain, the man behind the myth.

It was this release as well as a general interest in the fact why so many famous people die at age 27 that made Wolf E. Rahlfs create this intimate view into the emotional world of Kurt Cobain. This reading with musical accompaniment has premiered to a sold out auditorium in the summer of 2004 and has toured a number of german venues.

Not only for declared NIRVANA fans, this show gave some insight into some hitherto unknown sides of a former youth idol.

2004 / 2005
BACKGROUND:   Created and directed by Wolf E. Rahlfs. Long time friend and colleague Franziska Smolarek worked on the set design. Michael Wanker acts, accompanied by Hennes Holz on guitar.

Kurt Cobain (1967-1994) and his band NIRVANA released only six official albums. The one that made them famous is probably the best known among the general public: "Nevermind". It was their second album release after "Bleach", and their first album release for a major label. It went platinum and got to #1 in the charts right away. It is also one song that will always stick out for them: "Smells Like Teen Spirit". In 20 years from now it will be "oh, right, they did Smells like ... didn't they?" The more sensitive MTV Unplugged concert will probably float around as well, but "Nevermind" gave the band, and Kurt, its image.

Cobain is only one example of celebrities that died at the age of 27: Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Brian Jones, Jim Morrison and many others passed away at that age.
PRESS:   "Great homage to Kurt-Cobain. Highly impressive and poetic account of this sensitive and unbelievably ambiguous person." (BNN, Bruchsal)

"At the end of the breathless reading you feel like after a rollercoaster ride: it was great, but there’s an iffy feeling in your guts."
(Die Rheinpfalz)

"Next Kurt Cobain’s “Journals” will probably be A-level exams. (…) A gripping performance. The production by Wolf E. Rahlfs does not say how high the base should stand to this man’s monument, but certainly leaves no question either, that the monument is due."
(BNN, Karlsruhe)
 
COME AS YOU ARE
ADVERTISEMENT:

TOM WAITS: MUSIK UND MYTHOS
JAY S. JACOBS


368 Pages | Paperback


Price: 15,- Euro (+ Shipment)

Tom Waits Musik und Mythos jetzt bestellen
 
© 2009 stagecraft entertainment

Stagecraft Entertainment Logo
TOM WAITS:

-> COVER  
-> LESEPROBE  
-> BESTELLUNG  
-> HERAUSGEBER  
-> PRESSE  
-> BUCHHANDEL
PROJEKTE:

-> THEATERPRODUKTION  
   - AAAOFZ THING-FISH   
   - COME AS YOU ARE  
   - NOTES FROM UNDERG.  
ÜBER UNS:

-> BREM / KNAPP / RAHLFS 
-> KONTAKT  
-> LINKS  
-> IMPRESSUM  
-> SWITCH TO ENGLISH  

  1994 beschloss Kurt Cobain, seinem Leben ein Ende zu setzen. Dies war gleichzeitig das Ende der Band NIRVANA, einer Band, die ein ganz neues Musikgenre geschaffen hat, nun ja, wenigstens hat sie es bekannt gemacht. Cobain hat schon immer Anlass zu wilden Spekulationen gegeben. War er wirklich so unglücklich in seiner Rolle als Vorbild? War es wirklich Selbstmord? Die Veröffentlichung seiner Tagebücher zehn Jahre später beleuchtete zumindest einen Teil der Person hinter dem Mythos.

Diese Veröffentlichung, gepaart mit einem generellen Interesse an berühmten Persönlichkeiten die mit 27 das Zeitliche segneten, inspirierte Wolf E. Rahlfs dazu, diesen intimen Einblick in die emotionale Welt Cobains zu inszenieren. Die musikalische Lesung wurde im Sommer 2004 vor einem ausverkauftem Haus uraufgeführt und wird nun in einigen deutschen Theatern gastieren.

Die Produktion ermöglicht den Blick auf bis dato eher unbekannte Seiten des ehemaligen Jugendidols, und das nicht nur für erklärte NIRVANA Fans.

2004 / 2005
HINTERGRUND:   Erdacht und inszeniert von Wolf E. Rahlfs. Franziska Smolarek arbeitete am Bühnenbild. Es spielt und liest Michael Wanker begleitet von Hennes Holz an der Gitarre.

Kurt Cobain (1967-1994) und seine Band NIRVANA veröffentlichten nur sechs offizielle Alben. Das Album das sie berühmt gemacht ist auch das, welches der breiten Öffentlichkeit am ehesten im Gedächtnis geblieben ist: "Nevermind". Es war das zweite Album und das erste unter einem Major Label. Ebenso gibt es einen Song, der wohl für immer die Schublade bezeichnen wird, in die NIRVANA gesteckt werden: "Smells Like Teen Spirit". Das sensiblere MTV Unplugged Konzert wird wohl immer irgendwie present sein, aber "Nevermind" hat der Band, und auch Kurt Cobain, sein Image gegeben.

Cobain ist nur eine von vielen Persönlichkeiten, die im Alter von 27 Jahren starben: Jimi Hendrix, Janis Joplin, Brian Jones, Jim Morrison und viele andere verließen uns in diesem Alter.
PRESSE:   "Große Kurt-Cobain-Matinee. Überaus eindrucksvolle und poetische Annäherung an diesen hochsensiblen, unwahrscheinlich ambivalenten Menschen."
(BNN, Bruchsal)

"Am Ende der atemlosen Lesung fühlte man sich wie nach einer Achterbahnfahrt: Es war toll, aber da ist auch ein flaues Gefühl in der
Magengrube."
(Die Rheinpfalz)

"Demnächst werden die Tagebücher von Kurt Cobain wohl Abiturlektüre. (...) Eine packende Vorstellung. Die Inszenierung von Wolf E. Rahlfs jedenfalls schreibt nicht vor, wie hoch der Sockel sein soll, auf dem das Denkmal steht, stellt aber auch nicht infrage, dass ein Denkmal fällig ist."
(BNN, Karlsruhe).
 
COME AS YOU ARE
WERBUNG:

TOM WAITS: MUSIK UND MYTHOS
JAY S. JACOBS


368 Seiten | Taschenbuch


Preis: 15,- Euro (+ Versand)

Tom Waits Musik und Mythos jetzt bestellen
 
© 2009 stagecraft entertainment